They don’t mess around here. Texas has a zero-tolerance policy for driving while intoxicated; even first-time offenders go to jail, and most likely you’ll get license suspension. An open container will get you at least 6 days in jail. Then on a second offense, you’ll go to jail, and have your license revoked for at least a year. The penalties compound exponentially with each offense. After 8 DWI’s, a South Texas man got sentenced to 70 years in prison.
“CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS (AP) — A South Texas man with eight driving while intoxicated convictions has been sentenced to 70 years in prison for his latest DWI case.
Jurors in Corpus Christi sentenced 58-year-old Richard Vollick over a December traffic accident. Investigators say Vollick crashed his vehicle while exiting the Harbor Ferry.
The Corpus Christi Caller-Times reports another driver and a ferry worker saw Vollick’s vehicle hit some metal sign posts that punctured the gasoline tank. Both tried to assist and found Vollick smoking a cigarette in a puddle of gasoline.
Vollick, who was also fined $10,000 on Wednesday, has DWI convictions in Nueces, Aransas (uh-RAN’-zuhs) and San Patricio counties.
(Copyright ©2014 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)”