Maureen Dowd tries a ganja candy bar in Denver: how it went

“(NYT) columnist Maureen Dowd took her reporting seriously when she tried a marijuana-infused candy bar, only to end up “panting and paranoid” in her Denver hotel room.

She wasn’t alone in nibbling off more than she could handle.

Edible marijuana is popular with new users or people who haven’t smoked in years…They’re the ones, who “want to dip their toes into this world without having to buy a pipe, roll a joint or deal with the smell and coughing of actually smoking.”

But the edibles, “can pack a surprising punch.”

–NYTimes

Not at first. For an hour, I felt nothing. I figured I’d order dinner from room service and return to my more mundane drugs of choice, chardonnay and mediocre-movies-on-demand.

But then I felt a scary shudder go through my body and brain. I barely made it from the desk to the bed, where I lay curled up in a hallucinatory state for the next eight hours. I was thirsty but couldn’t move to get water. Or even turn off the lights. I was panting and paranoid, sure that when the room-service waiter knocked and I didn’t answer, he’d call the police and have me arrested for being unable to handle my candy.

This entry was posted in Culture, editorial, Health, Interesting, U.S., Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

